Welcome from Dr. William M. Shafer

William Shafer, PhD

I bid you a warm welcome to our website that features a new NIH-funded training grant (TG) that supports graduate students in the biomedical and biosciences enrolled in the Laney Graduate School of Emory University who conduct basic research dealing with mechanisms of antimicrobial resistance and therapeutic discovery to combat infectious diseases. Our program entitled, “Antimicrobial Resistance and Therapeutic Discovery Training Program,” (ARTDTP), provides comprehensive educational and research opportunities to interested PhD students enrolled in programs of the Graduate Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences (GDBBS). Year 2020 marks the program's seventh year as we just received a second round of NIH funding that will carry the program through 2027.

The development of ARTDTP was driven by the global health challenge of antibiotic resistant bacteria and the critical need for new antimicrobials to combat infectious diseases. Students with primary interests in biochemistry, immunology, microbiology or pharmacology are encouraged to participate in ARTDTP and may receive up to two years of stipend support and funds for supplies and travel. Our mentoring team of faculty have designed a curriculum and organized other educational opportunities tailored to meet the needs of ARTDTP trainees. Please visit our website and learn the various research opportunities in the areas of antimicrobial resistance and therapeutic discovery provided by our faculty mentors as well as the educational experiences available through ARTDTP. Please feel free to contact me contact me should you need additional information regarding ARTDTP.

Current Trainees and Their Mentors

placeholder imagePooja Srinivas
Graduate Student/Trainee
Contact Pooja

Pooja is a graduate student inthe Molecular and Systems Pharmacology Program. She earned her B.A. Molecular & Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley Read More>>   

Dr. Christine DunhamChristine M. Dunham, PhD
Contact Dr. Dunham

Christine Dunham is a Professor in the Department of Biochemistry in the Emory School of Medicine and Associated Faculty in the Department of Chemistry in the Emory College of Arts and Sciences.   Read More>>

zaremba-cassie-84x84.jpgCassie Schrank
Graduate Student/Trainee
Contact Cassie

Cassie is a graduate student in the Department of Chemistry in the Emory University College of Arts and Sciences.
  Read More>>

wuest-bill-84x84.jpgBill Wuest, PhD
Contact Dr. Wuest

Dr. Wuest is a Georgia Research Alliance Distinguished Investigator and Professor in the Department of Chemistry in the Emory College of Arts and Sciences and a member of the Emory Department of Chemistry Graduate Program.  Read More>>

lee-cheyenne.jpgCheyenne Lee
Graduate Student/Trainee
Contact Cheyenne

Cheyenne Lee graduated with a BS in biotechnology from The University of North Carolina at Pembroke in May 2019.  Read More>>

mcbride-84x84.pngShonna McBride, PhD
Associate Professor/Mentor
Contact Dr. McBride

Shonna McBride, PhD, is Associate Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at Emory University School of Medicine.   Read More>>


hannah smithHannah Smith
Graduate Student/Trainee
Contact Hannah

Hannah Smith earned her BS in Microbiology and Genomics & Molecular Genetics at Michigan State University and conducted undergraduate research under the mentorship of Dr. Christopher Waters. Read More>>

grabowicz-marcin-84x84.jpegMarcin  Grabowicz, PhD
Assistant Professor/Mentor
Contact Dr. Grabowicz

Dr. Marcin Grabowicz is Assisant Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at Emory University School of Medicine.   Read More>>

done-rachel-84x84.jpgRachel Done
Graduate Student/Trainee
Contact Rachel

Rachel received a B.S. in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology from Yale University and is currently a Ph.D. candidate in the Microbiology and Molecular Genetics program in the laboratory of Dr. Joanna Goldberg. Read More>>

goldberg-84x84.jpgJoanna B. Goldberg, PhD
Contact Dr. Goldberg

Joanna B. Goldberg is a Full Professor to the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy/Immunology, Cystic Fibrosis and Sleep in Department of Pediatrics at Emory University School of Medicine.   Read More>>